Don’t Spam My Space: The Absolute Worst Example of A Company Using Web 2.0

28Jun07
clipped from emerson.facebook.com

You have 6 group invitations.

FREE BAHAMAS CRUISE VACATION
Common Interest – Activities

You have been invited by Gladys Teixeira.

Would you like to join this group?

FREE BAHAMAS CRUISE VACATION
Common Interest – Activities

You have been invited by Gladys Teixeira.

Would you like to join this group?

FREE BAHAMAS CRUISE VACATION
Common Interest – Activities

You have been invited by Gladys Teixeira.

Would you like to join this group?

FREE BAHAMAS CRUISE VACATION
Common Interest – Activities

You have been invited by Gladys Teixeira.

Would you like to join this group?

FREE BAHAMAS CRUISE VACATION
Common Interest – Activities

You have been invited by Raul Valderram.

Would you like to join this group?

FREE BAHAMAS CRUISE VACATION
Common Interest – Activities

You have been invited by Raul Valderram.

Would you like to join this group?

  blog it

In the course of one week, I was bombarded with these group invitations and “friend” requests from these people from http://ClickHereForAFreeCruise.com. I will absolutely never visit their site and will block “Gladys Teixeira” and “Raul Valderram.” If you are a company looking to engage web users, there is a better way. First use a little common sense and common decency- think: would you like to receive this kind of spam? Marketing is not about spam or spin or “promotion.” It is about learning about your current and potential publics and offering them products and services in a way that really connects to their wants and needs. As a consumer, I don’t need another flash and trash “Free Bahamas Cruise Vacation”; I need a company to care about my life and how their product can, in some way, serve my interests instead of just their own. I will post a screen shot of the group page for this company in my next post so you can really see how pointless and annoying this pitch was.

One Response to “Don’t Spam My Space: The Absolute Worst Example of A Company Using Web 2.0”

  1. 1 functions

    Amanda – I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog. I agree that this is a big problem. Shady businesses get their hands on web 2.0 communication tools, like MySpace, and they spam as many people as they can about how great they are. How great their offer is, etc.

    As you said, each person contacted by a company needs to know how that company relates to their his/her life. From the very first contact, a company needs to engage each MySpace user about herself/himself. Personally, I would not even mentioning my product or service while first contacting a user.

    This is an example: Instead of creating a pointless group just to paste your sales pitch into the group homepage, create a group focused on the interests of your ideal prospects.

    In this case, that cruise company could have created a group about snorkeling or scuba. Then message some snorkelers, complement them about their snorkeling/scuba diving, then invite them to join the conversation at the group. After that, they need to actually engage those scuba lovers in some meaningful dialogue.

    The most I would directly promote the FREE Cruise would be to have a short *non-hyped* description of the cruise on my profile (not even on the group page), and then include a link to more info.

    I share your frustration, as do the major of social network users. I’m actually writing a series about sustainable social media marketing (including MySpace marketing)

    If you have a minute, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. This is the first post of the series. I will be adding more posts on this topic very soon.

    -dan



