This Could Be Next: Google People Reader

28Oct07

I have met some incredible people this year. But with a full time class schedule and a more-than-full time work schedule, it’s hard to keep up with everyone. RSS saves me. I can add feeds for the people I meet and work with and effortlessly track any new work or news related my people as it hits the Web. I wrote about this in a previous post.

I’d love to see Google fully capitalize on the power of this social subscription functionality.

peoplereader.jpg

It would be very cool to have the capability to import my Outlook, Ziggs, LinkedIn and Plaxo contacts into my Reader account and have Google instantly subscribe to news and blog feeds related to my people. At its most elemental, I’d love to be able to import basic related Google blog and news search feeds.

 

11 Responses to “This Could Be Next: Google People Reader”

  1. You should patent this idea. I love it.

  2. Genius! Bloody Genius!!!

  3. I think you’ll find Google’s Socialstream product (currently under private development) might do most, if not all of this.

  4. This is an excellent idea, Google should definitely do this.

  5. TERRIFYING!!! you clearly have never read anything about block modeling or about google’s social graph core (what their sna-ish approach is all about in search)…this is my worst fear ever. take a look at my bit on promis at passingnotes if you want some insight…

    don’t get me wrong – sounds great – but personally i would trust microsoft with this long before google…

  6. Check out Plaxo Pulse (www.plaxo.com). They have what you described pretty well nailed with the exception that they added some opt-in features to protect privacy.

  7. Just add the “spreading” feature and it leads to a Facebook killer:

    http://blog.kindalab.com/2007/10/26/information-spreading-through-social-networks/


  1. 1 Google People Reader « GigaOM
  2. 2 Google People: la red social SIN red social » El Blog de Enrique Dans
  3. 3 My Review of Truemors « American Shelf Life

