This Could Be Next: Market Segmentation Metrics for Websites

01Nov07

In my consumer behavior class I learned about a site that allows you to enter your or someone else’s zip code and see a breakdown of the average demographic and psychographic traits of that neighborhood. As I tested it out, I couldn’t help imagining how great a tool like this would be for online media. We’ve been tracking and reporting hits and unique visitors stats but I would love a tool that aggregates user profile information on social networks and interaction and chat history on sites to show the psychographic and demographic segmentation in any part of the Web. This information is sometimes reported but is often buried in the advertising section of sites. Compete and Alexa are starting to play with tracking and comparison of users stats; how about making these stats more meaningful by telling me a little something personal about the 4500,000 on Twitter and the 24,000,000 users on Facebook.

br.jpg



