My Review of Truemors

03Dec07

truemors.gif

I was in touch with Guy Kawasaki last weekend. He had seen my Google People Reader post and asked me to check out Truemors. I see the potential here.

If Truemors was organized in the manner of a newswire service with a more refined interface and method of submitting and posting rumored news items, its ability to seed soon-to-be-confirmed or unconfirmed news could provide the right sparks to make breaking news truly viral and audiences engaged from the onset.

If I was at an industry conference, for example, I might hear an influential person mention that she is ending her work with a major company to found a new venture. I could submit that news to Truemors, track how many users were interested in the news, confirm how many others heard the same rumor and get the story buzzing even before the official news was ever announced. Here are a few of my other observations:

  • Currently, there is no ability on the site to view the people who’ve declared their interest in a rumor. This capability on Digg allows me to see who’s really engaged with the story; this would be particularly valuable on Truemors. If word about a client’s soon-to-be-announced company news was posted on the site and I had the ability to see who is interested in the story, I would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with those people once the news is released and confirmed by the company itself.
  • I’d like to be able view profiles of the people who have submitted a rumor on the site and have the ability for users to rate the overall reliability or value of users’ contributions. If users find one contributor to post really interesting and trustworthy items, place their news higher in my feed.
  • I’d like to be able to view an aggregated list of sites discussing a rumor. If I see that a rumor has circulated on popular, reputable sites, I would take the rumor more seriously and spend time checking it out and sharing it with others.
  • I’d like to see the list of rumor categories reorganized to feel a little less frivolous. Right now the first thing that hits me as a user is that I see “crap,” “odd, “sex,” and “dumpster” as main rumor categories. That doesn’t make me feel like there’s a ton of value in digging through the rumors on the site. If the categories were “New Mergers and Acquisitions,” “New Company Launches,” “New Product Developments”… I would spend more time on the site.
  • Once a rumor is confirmed to be acurate, perhaps by an official news release or comment from the parties involved in the rumored news, related rumors should be grouped into some sort of “confirmed” or “fact” section.
  • If Truemors or a similar site becomes a kind of Wikipedia for breaking, rumored company news, the same debate about companies’ and marketers’ role as a contributor on the site will surface.

Again, I think there are interesting implications here that if fully developed, could change the way we break, share and confirm the latest news. This is one of my first passes through the site and a brainstorm of observations so I’d love to know what you think.

