How I Discover my Favorite New Artists in 30 Seconds or Less

07Dec07

I’ve been increasingly taken by the music featured in commercials. I once discovered must-download tracks from movies; now I see a great ad, Google the song and head straight to iTunes to purchase it. Every time I listen to these songs, I remember the commercial; when the ad comes on TV, my friends and I stop what we’re doing to listen to the song. I guess the real question is whether I actually bought the products advertised.

Here are a few examples of ads that prompted me to purchase a new song or album:

Sony Bravia: José González’s Heartbeats

Old Navy: Ingrid Michaelson The Way I Am


Old Navy: Blue Alert Madeleine Peyroux


DeBeers: Cat Power How Can I Tell You (Not available on iTunes)

DeBeers: Landon Pigg Falling in Love in a Coffee Shop

I love discovering new music and great ads. Drop a link with your favorites and I’ll check them out.

5 Responses to “How I Discover my Favorite New Artists in 30 Seconds or Less”

  1. 1 geoffbilbrough

    Hi – saw your tweet – I bought “The Reminder” by Feist based on the Apple Nano adhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qP79rRzzh4

  2. amanda, i feel with you.

    don’t miss one of the greatest ones out there. directed by spike jonze, and his wife karen o did the music. a masterpiece in all walks i think :)

    lukas

  3. Ha, glad someone else picked up on this. I discovered José González the same way and now I am seeing him in NYC this Sunday. I discovered Madeleine Peyroux at a blog ( http://aurgasm.us/2006/08/madeleine-peyroux/ ) and Cat Power from an old girlfriend but spotted those ads in a heartbeat and felt like a Jeopardy champ for a split second. Do you know this site that focuses on identifying tunes in ads? http://adtunes.com/

    Great blog, just discovered it tonight randomly :-)

  4. @geoffbilbrough Big fan of the Feist. You should try Let it Die too http://tinyurl.com/36clgr

    @lukas wow- really cool ad. I’ve never seen that before.

    @David Man, I’m jealous that you got to see José González. Will check out adtunes for sure. Thanks for stopping by the blog!


  1. 1 Today’s Honey: Common at Social Honeycomb

