Social Media Breakfast 7: Getting Hired in a 2.0 World

02May08

With college graduation looming, the timing of yesterday’s Social Media Breakfast could not have been better, as the topic of discussion was getting hired in the 2.0 world.

Speakers included Stever Robbins, host of the Get-It-Done Guy Podcast, Aaron Strout, VP of New Media at Mzinga; Todd Defren, Principal at SHIFT Communications (and sponsor of the event) and Chris Brogan, VP of Strategy and Technology at CrossTech Media.

Each speaker briefly discussed how tools such as LinkedIn, Twitter, and personal blogs speak more about a candidate than a fluffed-up resume could. (Tell that to my campus career center!).

The idea that really stood out to me was the importance of managing a personal brand. In his presentation Todd said, “More and more, in the age of personal branding, if I don’t already know a person, I question, why should I [interview them]?”

With social media tools making it easier than ever to participate in the conversation and create a personal brand, what tips do you have for managing the brand of YOU?

Some video of Todd from coBRANDit

Image pulled from here.

-Laura Nelson



13 Responses to “Social Media Breakfast 7: Getting Hired in a 2.0 World”

  1. Thanks for the kind words but you do no favors to your readers by offering up a video of me. ;)

    I didn’t even see you yesterday! Next time, I hope you’ll make a point to say hi.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Excellent write-up. Thanks for this. Tons of fun, wouldn’t you say?

  3. Laura, good to see you got something of value from yesterday’s breakfast.

    And if your career center counselors aren’t giving the complete picture (don’t forget the “Great Cultural Career Lies” that Stever mentioned ), then maybe you can point them to the videos of yesterday’s presentations as evidence that hiring practices are changing: http://qik.com/cobrandit

    Or, they can always just hire us to come in and give them the skinny!

  4. 4 sarahhutton

    Thanks for the recap Laura! Crazy week of finals and sick family members made it difficult for me to make it, but I’m glad ASL was represented!

  5. 5 LauraNelson

    Todd- wow, thanks for the quick reply! I did say hi briefly, but you might not have recognized me because I hadn’t had my coffee yet :) looking forward to next time!

    It was tons of fun, Chris! I love seeing online friends come to life…

    Bryan, you took the thoughts right out of my mind, I’m presenting later today for a social media class and am going to urge everyone to check out the videos from coBRANDiT

    Sarah, hope everything is ok- we missed you but this is the craziest time of the semester yet! let’s catch up soon when things settle down:)

    have a great weekend everyone!

  6. Great roundup Laura- really wish I could have attended! You’ll be happy to know that I’m blasting your post and @cobrandit’s Qik feed from the breakfast out to everyone in career services at Emerson and posting on Facebook for my friends to check out.

  7. 1. Laura Nelson, you AMAZE moi.

    2. Personal branding. Food for thought for any college soon-to-be-graduate. Definitely need to forward this link on to Simmons. Better yet, you should offer to speak about it! Maybe hold off another week before doing so and they’ll have to pay you… :)

  8. @cammy I’m totally with you on this. 1. Laura is amazing and 2. She should speak about it! What happened with her Web 2.0 commencement speech?? SO disappointed that that’s not happening. Uploading a video of her discussing her speech now though so we can at least share here. Laura- what if you gave your commencement speech on ASL:) for our graduating class??

  9. 9 LauraNelson

    As long as I don’t have to memorize it! :)

  10. You just have to bring it to our meet up tonight and read it for my Flip:) How funny/geeky would it be if we posted our senior class projects here and you gave you commencement speech for the ASL crew/readers.

  11. Being the new guy to all of this SMB stuff, the roundup was a great synopsis and I look forward to getting deeper into some of the videos that are linked up. Sounds like it’s going to be a good watch.

    How frequently do these sorts of events come around? Anything for over the summer?

  12. Good review and I wish I was there!

  13. Laura – I’m johnny-come-lately here but wanted to also thank you for the write up. I was just sad that I didn’t get a chance to talk with more people. Already looking forward to the next SMB!

    Best,
    Aaron (@astrout)



