When “Friend” Became a Verb

02May08

David Brain posted this video from the BBC on his Sixty Second View blog yesterday. It’s a real life spoof on Facebook and it’s amazing:

Will also posted a really funny review of the “People You May Want to Know” feature showing up on FB. He says, “It’s no coincidence that the people showing up in this window are people I’m not friends with for a reason. Take a hint, Zuckerberg!” Another commenter said it’s like “Putting all the people you don’t say hi to in one room.”

Enjoy:)

-Amanda Mooney

4 Responses to “When “Friend” Became a Verb”

  1. That was definitely worth a good laugh! It’s so true though, which is inevitably why it’s so funny. I’m working on an article about social networks/web 2.0 and relationships and one of the dynamics that I want to look into is the differing views of “acquaintance management” vs. “friend management.”

    If you or any of your readers have any thoughts, I’d love to hear them. You can drop a line at collegetechcentral@gmail.com or call our listener hotline at 206-206-1877 if you prefer talking about it!

    Thanks for a good hearty laugh!
    James Connors
    http://www.collegetechcentral.com

  2. 2 sarahhutton

    Took the words right out of my mouth. At an ASL dinner with Steve Hall I think I said the exact same thing. Hysterical.

  3. 3 Melissa

    I couldn’t be more pleased with this video


  1. 1 Social Networking

