The Result of our Twitter challenge: @valerial on “The Day Twitter Changed My Life. Really.”

18Oct08

Here is the result of our Twitter challenge. This was really incredible to see and I’m excited to see this grow next week and beyond. Thanks to all who participated and supported @valerial’s cause.

I’ve been attempting to begin to write this post for about half an hour now, and I just can’t seem to put into words what I want to say, at least not exactly, not as poignantly.

You see, today I witnessed first-hand the power of word-of-mouth and the willingness of people to rally around a cause and help make a difference.  Most importantly (and most rewarding), I witnessed the genuine kindness and selflessness that exists within people…people within Twitter.

Today, individuals whom I know through Twitter (as well as a lot of whom I did not know before today), donated their morning latte (as Amanda Mooney put it when she challenged the Twitter community to make a difference) to The Breast Cancer 3-Day. Throughout the day, my inbox welcomed donation receipts from 18 Twitterati who accepted @AmandaMooney’s challenge and supported the fight against breast cancer.

If you search for @ValeriaL, you can find a small snapshot of how the word was spreading.

Through generous $5 (and a few larger) donations, $180 were raised today forThe Susan G. Komen Foundation. That, my friends, is wonderful. And I am so extremely thankful!

I’d like to individually thank these men and women who, today, went from being @’s to being people who truly touched my heart. In no particular order, they are as follows:

@barrettcrites, @kylecameron, @laurak, @thegirlriot, @dekrem, @askmanny, @amyyen, @stales, @bernardf, @neilgorman, @mariobox, @meghendricks, @amandamooney, @falconGN, @jswo, @amblass, @sylvainperron, @meaganfish, @kevinmercuri, Ron Whitaker
(please let me know if I’ve forgotten anyone!)

Thank you. Gracias. Grazie. Merci.

Thank you for providing hope to hundreds of thousands of women and men around the world. Thank you for being stewards of the mission to end breast cancer forever.

Thank you for standing up to the challenge and showing that one person really can make a difference, that for the price of one cup of coffee, you can change a life. Your kindness today most certainly changed my outlook on mine.

Stay tuned for next week’s challenge, which @AmandaMooney will post on Twitter and/or on Our American Shelf Life. In the meantime, you can continue to leave your donations for The 3-Day here.

I look forward to your comments.

Wishing you all a lovely weekend,
Valeria …

-Amanda Mooney

