The Web’s Less Intimidating if You Start at the Beginning

09Nov08

Lately, I’ve been reading blogs from the beginning. As a twentysomething just starting out in this space, it’s intimidating to throw my perspective into the digital echo chamber, when everyone around me is a seasoned analyst, professional pundit or web celeb who may or may not deserve the status and the attention. Anyway, reading these bloggers’ early posts is humbling. I find typos, big questions (rather than bold assertions) of what it all means and the kind of writing tone that is a little more human, that says, “Here’s what I think; I’m not sure if anyone will care.” The best bloggers (including the ones I’ve listed below) maintain that tone now, well after they’ve found a sizable audience.

I’ve started with Adrants, Chris Brogan’s Blog, CC Chapman’sMax Kalehoff’s, Jeff Pulver’s, PSFK and Micro Persuasion to name a few. 

The early posts from Adrants are especially worth the look. Steve wrote really interesting and honest anecdotes about his days working in the biz. 

I’ve also started to do the same with social networks. I’ve run a few Google blog searches and narrowed results down to the first few months after a network’s launch. Here are the February-December 2004 results for “The Facebook.”

I also ran a similar search for MySpace. Here‘s one of my favorite soundbites circa 2004:

“Last night, I had a brief encounter with the President/founder of MySpace.com at a MySpace party. His name’s Tom and he’s already a millionaire (from a previous venture I think). He has about 30 employees working on MySpace, he told me. It sounds like overkill but I suspect most of them are contractors or freelancers (like the photographers taking pictures at the party). I don’t think he would need more than 5 technical personell to run and manage the site…Tom said he may offer premium services in the future but for now he is not interested in making money off users and is just sticking to banner ads.”

Anyway, try it out for yourself and drop a link here to an early post you enjoyed.

-Amanda Mooney



3 Responses to “The Web’s Less Intimidating if You Start at the Beginning”

  1. You know, the present becomes history pretty quickly in the digital space. Fair bet that what I say today, even if it’s true, will be inaccurate in a year.

  2. Amanda,
    I’m honored you’d allocate that much attention to me. But no matter where you came from and no matter where you are now, it’s absolutely critical to acknowledge what we all are in understanding the evolution of the Web and media: students. That should keep everyone humble for a long time.
    Max

  3. I think looking back to people’s origins, first posts etc is very exciting and interesting. Have you seen My First Tweet? http://myfirsttweet.com/ You type in your username (or someone else’s) and it shows you their first ever tweet. I just came across it the other day. It was fun to see my first tweet: something about the wonder years i think…



