My First Six Months

05Dec08

This Wednesday, I will leave for NYC. I will be staying there for three days. Joe at DDB invited me to work at the agency for a day and on Friday I will be meeting with Richard Edelman. I am so excited but really nervous.

I wrote this in an email to a friend in March, 2007. At this point, I was still trying to figure out what I wanted to do after graduation. I headed to the city to meet with two people I respected most in the space who were kind enough to give me their time. As an IMC major, I hadn’t yet decided between advertising or PR.

It was the first time I met with Richard Edelman in the New York office after meeting him a year earlier at  a PRSSA/PRSA conference in Utah. On the bus ride back from New York that Friday and my meeting with Richard, I knew that Edelman was 1,000% my dream job. I emailed Richard and told him I’d spend the rest of my time in college working and studying specifically to make sure I was ready to be the kind of employee he and his team would need in 2008.

Tonight I looked at my calendar and realized that it’s 2 days past my 6th month anniversary at Edelman Digital. It’s flown by and I’ve felt lucky to be there every day. I haven’t forgotten how I felt on those bus rides to NY, late nights studying and working to learn everything I could and that night, when I was running between work and a class at Emerson, when Lisa Sahliyeh in HR called to officially offer me the positon. I hope I never forget that.

You should know that, while so many people say we’re a 9-5 generation, that we’re not commited to our jobs, that they don’t define us– For me it’s entirely different. As Richard Avedon said, “I believe you’ve got to love your work so much that it’s all you want to do… Don’t wait for Monday. I don’t believe in weekends.”

I know six months is really short in the perspective of a long career, but tonight it feels really great.  

-Amanda Mooney

3 Responses to “My First Six Months”

  1. It’s great that you found something you love and that you’re happy where you are in life. For so many twentysomethings right now in this economy it’s anything but.

    However, that quote terrifies me and I plan on living my life in full force against that. I never want my job to be my everything. I don’t think it’s healthy to be so single-mindedly focused on one thing or one industry or one group of people. I think it’s incredibly limiting. I think you should love your life so much that all you want to do is live it and experience all the things our community, our country, our world has to offer. There is more to life than digital. So much more. And I’m afraid that our universe is going to get locked down into a world of zeros and ones and someday I’m going to wake up thinking I have this wonderful community and am making a difference but in reality I’m sitting alone in a room. By myself.

    Making a difference through your work is important – it’s wonderful to have a job that you feel allows you to contribute to society. But friends, family, lovers, travel, books, theater, music, nature… That’s not something you’ll always be able to experience digitally. Embrace the weekends as the time where you grow as a person, regardless of its impact on your professional life. I hope you remember that.

  2. Hi Allison,
    Appreciate your thoughts here. So Avedon’s quote is, like most great quotes, a hyperbole. I do love my work so much that I think about it and study and prepare for it way past the normal 9-5. But everything you’re saying about friends, family, travel, etc, that’s still a huge part of my life and often part of my work fortunately. And now, in my twenties, I’m just incredibly focused on this area of my life. Whether it’s right or wrong, I love it right now so I’m pursuing it with every ounce of energy I have.

  3. Amanda…..good for you. It’s important to identify your dreams and actively chase them (in approriate and legal ways of course).

    Congrats on your first six months and for reminding us that good things are possible in these times.

    – Tom



