Why Lennon Reminds Me of Countless Hours of Procrastination on Facebook

19Jan09

t

In some strange way, the first thing this quote made me think about was the thousands of hours I “wasted” in college playing on Facebook, Flickr, Twitter, etc… I always thought it was a form of procrastination from work and class. Now, 6 or so months post graduation, I can look back and say that I was hired for a job I love because of my knowledge of the Web (acquired as a user who searched for additional perspective on my crazy digital life), my bosses see me as the digital kid in the agency at a time when the digital kids are the shiny objects in the room and I help bring in business sometimes strictly from my knowledge of a site like Facebook that I gained through hours of avoiding writing papers for class.

-Amanda Mooney

